Board and Commitees

Our board, composed of volunteers elected by our members, meets four times each year to discuss the strategic directions of ACA New England. They also work throughout the year on various committees, alongside some appointees. If you have some interest in getting involved in this important work, please send an email to Bette Bussel.

Board Members

Executive Committee

Shannon Donovan-Monti, President -
Betsy Kelder, Vice-President
Ian Moorhouse, Vice-President
Jason Silberman, Vice-President
John Tilley, Treasurer
Georgia Hall, Secretary 

Board of Directors

Danita Ballantyne

Terrie Campbell

Barbie Cobb

Nicky DeCesare

Mary Ellen Deschenes



 Alessia Doss

 Arthur Greenberg

Kathy Jonas

Greg Jutkiewicz

 Scott Lambeck




Rhino Merrick

Carl E. Metzger

Thayer Raines

Doug Sutherland

Kate White Lewis



Operating Committees and Task Forces

These committees do not require election. You can simply volunteer for them, most easily by emailing Donna Johns-Thomas.  She will let you know if there is a current need for help.

The Conference Committee

This committee works to plan and implement the largest education and trade show for camp professionals in New England, coordinating the program, recruiting speakers/presenters, and developing a theme. 
(Greg Jutkiewicz, Chair)

In addition, on-site volunteer opportunities include room hosting, raffle sales, registration, and exhibits.

Campership Task Force

This task force was established to research and evaluate possible campership models to recommend to the Board of Directors. (Ed Pletman, Chair)

Emerging Camp Professionals

This committee focuses on working with camp professionals who are new to their decision-making positions in resident or day camp. The ECPs work to integrate new professionals into the world of camping. (Alessia Doss, Chair)

Membership Committee

This committee works on recruitment and retention of members and camps, and promotes general awareness of membership benefits. (Betsy Kelder, Chair)

Professional Development and Education Committee

This committee coordinates all educational opportunities for camp professionals outside the annual conference including: Fall Seminar, New Camp Directors Workshops, Lunch and Learn Series, Super Staff Day and much more. (Ian Moorhouse, Chair)

Standards/Accreditation Committee

This committee oversees the ACA accreditation program in New England. (Danita Ballantyne, Chair)